LITTLE BLACK DRESS

A LBD goes a long way… Here I am with the old age argument as to why everyone should have a timeless LBD in their wardrobe. Ever since I was about 11 and going to school discos, I have always loved having a black dress. Back then it was more Tammy-Girl than Topshop, but the fact still remains the same – it is a universal must have for women.

It is timeless. You will never not need a LBD. They are suitable for almost every occasion – a work do – a family do – going out with friends – going for a meal – … a funeral? Maybe not quite..

So I thought I’d share with you my LBD. I originally bought it for my 19th birthday in September but have worn it so many other times since, and I think that is purely down to it’s classic and flattering design. It is from Oh My Love, which is an online retailer, but can also be found in Topshop and it was just £39! They also do 20% student discount at the moment!

Halter necks aren’t for everyone – but as I am more pear shaped, the halter neck attracts attention to my neckline and collarbones, rather than my chest. The mesh cut outs in the side give the illusion of a slimmer waist and although the material of the dress is very tight, it is also stretchy enough to fit round my lumps and bumps seamlessly.

I teamed this dress with MAC’s Viva Glam III lipstick, a strong cat eye and no accessories for a simple yet classic look when I wore it on my 19th. Yet, for a more casual look I have just worn very minimal make up and let the dress speak for itself. Either way – the LBD worked without me looking like I was just ‘recycling an outfit’ which I actually have no problem with anyway..

Anyway, this is my go to dress when I don’t know what to wear and also don’t want to buy something new! At only £39 and good quality, as it has kept it shape through my many drunken times, I couldn’t recommend it enough!

Image

What's your go-to dress?
Leave a Reply

